Bill Wiggin has thanked the voters of North Herefordshire for re-electing him to represent them in the House of Commons for a third successive term with over 50% of the votes cast. Despite the boundary changes reducing the size of the constituency, the results of the General Election held on 6 May also gave Bill a majority just short of 10,000 on a turnout out of 71.5%. Bill Wiggin said:

“I would like to thank the voters of North Herefordshire for once again placing their trust in me as their Member of Parliament and for supporting the Conservative Party. I would also like to thank my supporters, everyone who has helped with the campaign, the Chairman of North Herefordshire Conservatives and my family.

“Despite the desperate attacks I have faced from my political opponents and parts of the media over the last year I am pleased the good people of North Herefordshire have seen through these smears and re-elected me. I will continue to work hard to support our local communities, campaign for the countryside, help our farmers and call for improvements to our schools, hospital and public services.

“Across the country people have voted for a change of Government and while we would have liked to have won an overall majority, I am pleased that we have secured over 300 seats in the House of Commons. I also look forward to working with many new colleagues, including Jesse Norman in Hereford South, Harriet Baldwin in West Worcestershire and Mark Garnier in Wyre Forest, who all fought superb campaigns to win their seats.”

Notes to editors:

General Election result for North Herefordshire:

Bill Wiggin, Conservatives…24,631 (51.8% of votes cast)

Lib Dems…14,744 (31.0%)

Labour…3,373 (7.1%)

UKIP…2,701 (5.7%)

Green…1,533 (3.2%)

Independent…586 (1.2%)

Majority: 9,887 (20.8%)

Total votes: 47,568.

