‘Leominster, Hampton Bishop and Mordiford should have their flood defences properly checked before next year,’ said Bill Wiggin MP.

In April North Herefordshire MP Bill Wiggin met with Dafydd Evans, Environment Agency Area Manager for the West Midlands, to press for action to enhance local flood defences.

Bill Wiggin MP can now reveal that over £150,000 of work will take place in North Herefordshire during the coming year.

Bill Wiggin MP said: “This is excellent and important news for people in Leominster, Hampton Bishop and Mordiford.

I am determined to do all I can to help keep people’s homes dry and to this end I have urged the Environment Agency to ensure we have the best flood defences for North Herefordshire.

Over the years I have developed a positive working relationship with Dafydd Evans, Area Manager for the West Midlands, and I am delighted he has taken my comments on board and is working to help my constituents in Leominster, Hampton Bishop and Mordiford.”

In Leominster the Environment Agency will be assessing the Leominster Flood Alleviation Scheme to see what work would be required to improve the standard of protection against river flooding to properties in and around the town of Leominster now and in the future. These checks will identify if any refurbishment or improvement works are required in the near future.

In Hampton Bishop work will include repairing 150m of damaged River Lugg embankment and work to structures on the River Wye embankment. The embankment at Mordiford Bridge will also receive attention.

Bill Wiggin MP added: “I would like to keep all of my constituents involved in this work to enhance our flood defences in Leominster, Hampton Bishop and Mordiford.

Please don’t hesitate to write to me with any comments you may have about the proposed flood defence works and I will be sure to forward those comments I receive to the Environment Agency so my constituents’ views are uppermost in their mind.”

A spokeswoman for the Environment Agency said: “Last year the Environment Agency replaced the old stoplogs needed to fill gaps in the existing wall at Mordiford Village with new ones made from the same aluminum design as the demountable barriers used in the Hereford Flood Alleviation Scheme.  The Environment Agency will be providing a storage facility to enable the residents to take ownership of their defences.”

