Bill Wiggin MP accepted a petition from the residents of Fownhope on Friday as he fights for improved mobile reception.

Bill Wiggin MP for North Herefordshire has been fighting to overturn a decision not to proceed with a new mobile phone mast in the village and on Friday 11 July visited Fownhope to accept a petition signed by over 400 people.

Fownhope petition 2

Bill Wiggin MP said: “It was a pleasure to visit Fownhope on Friday and accept the petition from Kevin Braybrooks and his colleagues on Fownhope Parish Council.

I was disappointed when I heard of the decision not to proceed with the proposed mast in Fownhope and ever since I have been working hard to overturn that call.

I have tabled numerous Written Questions to try to find out why the decision not to proceed with the mast was taken, but every answer I receive prompts further questions.

I also met with The Rt Hon Sajid Javid MP, Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport who agreed to investigate the situation.

I will be contacting the Secretary of State in the coming days to arrange the handover of the Fownhope petition.

I am also going to write to the mobile phone providers and Ofcom on this matter.

Decent mobile phone signal is vital for friends and families to stay in touch, for businesses to compete and for emergency services to be contacted when there is an accident.

I will continue to fight for Fownhope and improved mobile phone signal in Herefordshire until we have the changes that we want.”

