The Prime Minister has agreed to see what he can do to help Hereford Hospital.

Bill Wiggin MP secured the agreement from the Prime Minister during Prime Minister’s Questions on Wednesday 3 December when Mr Wiggin continued his campaign for more hospital beds for Hereford Hospital.

After PMQs, Bill Wiggin MP said: “I am delighted the Prime Minister has agreed to look into what he can do to help Hereford Hospital.

Hereford Hospital is currently facing many challenges which is why I used my question to the Prime Minister to secure our hospital the vital help it needs.

With the added attention of the Prime Minister and our fantastic NHS staff in Herefordshire I am confident the Hospital will be able to drastically improve.

While the increase in spending on the NHS is welcome, our skilled doctors and nurses need the old hutted wards at Hereford Hospital replaced with state of the art modern buildings with more capacity.

I visited the old wards recently and was deeply impressed by the teams delivering patient care.

I want to see our hospital thrive and I think with the replacement of the hutted wards and the dedicated NHS staff we already have my constituent’s in North Herefordshire will be very well taken care of.”

The exchange in the House of Commons is as follows:

Bill Wiggin (North Herefordshire) (Con): Will my right hon. Friend meet me to help get more beds for Hereford hospital? Will he send a Minister to meet the magnificent staff and, possibly, Welsh patients who have acquired addresses in England so that they can access life-saving cancer care drugs that are not available under the Labour-run Welsh NHS?

The Prime Minister: I am sure my hon. Friend will welcome the £2 billion for the NHS in England, which the Chancellor announced at the weekend. That money will go directly to the front line. Obviously, we want to see continued improvements at the Hereford hospital. There are pressures from people from Wales crossing the border and wanting to use services in England. That is why it is so important that the Welsh NHS has the improvements that we have been talking about. As to meetings and visits to my hon. Friend’s hospital, I will look very carefully at what we can do to help.

