Bill Wiggin MP has been named as Chair of the Committee of Selection.

The Committee of Selection’s role is to nominate MPs to serve on General Committees, which deal with Bills the Government wants to make law, and Select Committees, which scrutinise the work of the Government.

As Chair of the Committee of Selection, Bill will also sit on the Liaison Committee which questions the Prime Minister several times a year.

Bill Wiggin MP said: “I am delighted to have been named as Chair of the Committee of Selection.

This important Committee works behind the scenes in Parliament to ensure we have the best people from across the House working out the details in each new Bill that is passing through the House of Commons.

I am looking forward to the opportunity to directly question the Prime Minister as a member of the Liaison Committee.

Whilst I am delighted with my appointment, I must also congratulate my friend and colleague Jesse Norman MP on his appointment as Chair of the Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee.

I am sure he will make an excellent Chair and will use his position to tackle the problems we face in Herefordshire with mobile signal and rural broadband.”