bill-at-hereford-hospital-3

North Herefordshire MP Bill Wiggin was accompanied by Minister of State for Health, Philip Dunne MP during a visit to Hereford County Hospital.

Bill Wiggin MP had previously invited the Minister to Hereford Hospital during a Westminster debate on NHS Sustainability and Transformation Plans. Mr Wiggin and Mr Dunne met with Hospital staff and key figures from the Wye Valley NHS Trust to discuss how the Government can contribute to the Hospital’s progression.

During their visit, Mr Dunne and Mr Wiggin met departmental staff to discuss key issues such as funding, recruitment and additional facilities.

Recent reports have shown that patient experience and staff morale at the hospital are higher than the national average, and the Trust hope to be removed from special measures in the near future.

Bill Wiggin MP said of the visit:

“I was delighted that Philip Dunne MP accepted my invitation to visit Hereford Hospital to discuss ways in which the Government can help us.

“It is a tremendous opportunity having a Health Minister based so close to home, and I am determined to keep pushing for improvements to reward the staff that do such a wonderful job here.

“I have always given the hospital my full support and am delighted to see the huge progress that has been made in the past few years. I am keen to do all I can to ensure its continuing success and with the excellent support we get from my constituents I am confident that we can make this a Hospital we are all proud of.”

